Life in a suitcase

My life has been so absurd the last couple of weeks, really. I've been travelling up north, back to Auckland, from Auckland to Christchurch, and here I am sleeping on my friend's couch. Yeah, thank God for friends willing to take me into their home and make sure I'm allright in this alien country (well I do reckon this is my home country for now, but still), what would I do without these wonderwalls?

Anyway, all of my clothes, shoes, paperwork, you name it, is in my giant, cerise-pink suitcase, but not for long. Hopefully, I'll move in to this place in a couple of days, and I'll have my own wardrobe, bed and so on. I'm looking forward to go buy a loaf of bread and a tray of eggs and eat the best breakfast ever: the Samoan breakfast with sliced toast with butter (MAO, WE NEED MORE BUTTER, hahaha), eggs sunny side up and some jam. Only thing missing is the fresh cocoa milk and some coffee with Amarula.

I usually love to know what's up next. Whenever I meet up with someone, I prefer to make sure the person knows exactley where I am, when I'll arrive and where that will be, and I often expect that person to do the same for me. I want to know what's going on, I don't want to end up standning there without a clue. But one thing I've gotten to know, and accepted, down here is that life doesn't always end up the way you thought it would, and one has to be prepared for things to go wrong sometimes. Even if I may not have everything most people in my age want to have right now, say heaps of money, a nice car (pr even a driver's license) or the Channing Tatum look-a-like boyfriend, I'm in this amazing country with all the opportunities in the world.

One thing I will fulfil, which I've wanted to do for nine years now, is to see the LOTR crew in action. Jess and I are planning to go and see the recording of The Hobbit, whenever it starts, and that will be so amazing, I alsmost go nervous when I think about it.

So I live here, and everyday leads me to something new. For an example, when it comes to culinary experiences, I've eaten so much down here I've never even considered to eat anywhere else: mussles, scallops, toast with french fries, pie with spaghetti, candy shaped as babies, you name it. At the same time, I've cut my meat consumption so much that I'm almost a semi-vegeterian. Practically, the only time I eat meat is when it's being served. I avoid it for a number of reasons:

- I don't enjoy it as much as I used to
- it's cheaper to go with veggies instead
- overconsumtion of meat is bad for the environment, and I personally reckon most people eat way more meat than they really need

I am also reading a lot of books, now that school's over, and I think I have close to six books in my suitcase waiting to be read. I'm reading two right now, Scar Tissue and Odd Thomas. I've read both of them before and they're amazingly good, I'm telling you, if you see them, get them and read them! Besides from that, I'm picking up on my guitar playing, and I plan to get some books in Italian to study the language on my own next year.

Speaking of that, the idea of that came from me realizing I have no hobbies. You know some people work out or do sports, some paint etc. But I don't really have a hobby, so if I find myself with enough time to, I'll have that as my New Year's resolution to study Italian on my own. I love the language, and it would be so much fun to do, and very useful as well.

But now it's past eleven in the night, everyone's alseep and I'll go to bed to read Scar Tissue. I hope everyone's fine and that the one's whos in a different time zone will have a great day.

And oh, I must admit that I got a bit jealous when I saw pictures from Jasmine's blog, even if NZ summer is gorgeous, I do miss a proper winter with snow. But there will be more Swedish winters.

See ya!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Jasmine

saknar dig babe! har tänkt mkt på om jag ska kanske komma och hälsa på :D om du skulle vilja då. :P när skulle det passa dig, för du har lov nu va? pusspuss <3

2010-12-01 @ 11:59:19
URL: http://jasminerolf.devote.se
Postat av: gretch

may I suggest a book? atlas shrugged or the fountainhead by ayn rand.

2010-12-01 @ 18:27:49
Postat av: Louise

Jasmine: Du far komma precis nar du vill! Det vet du att jag skulle bli glad, sjalvklart :D Jag har lov fram till den sista februari, och sen har jag tva veckors lov i mitten av nasta termin. Nar skulle det passa dig hjartat?



Gretch: I'll look them up, I trust your taste of books!

2010-12-02 @ 03:24:22
URL: http://louisejonsson.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0