Definition of adult?

Preciseley what is the definition of being adult? Really? I've spent some hours the last couple of days trying to figure out when one turns in to an adult, and where the actual line between just being a kid and being an adult goes. Could I define my self as grown up?

In my cover letter, I define myself as an nineteen year old woman, but is that correct of me to say? It sure does sound more professional, but is it true?

I reckon that my own definiton has changed so much the last couple of years so far that I know longer seem to have a clue of what it means, but for an example, a year ago I'd probably say that a grown up person is one who not neccesarily lives by him/herself, but is occupied with either working or studying, and by that means moving towards something (working would be money and a carreer, and studying towards knowledge and in time, a carreer).

But does it also include giving up all the things you do as a teenager, including getting wasted on weekends, sitting at home watching a movie and eating nothing else but Doritos for a whole day (and possibly a whole can of olives and a bunch of boiled eggs with salt) and taking every day as it comes?

Because being an adult can't possibly mean that one glass of wine is enough, every single day has to be productive and there is no such thing as sleeping till noon every now and then?

I have been trying to become more "grown up" (whatever that mean) during my time in New Zealand, still confused about if I have succseeded or not.. Since I'm not a very organized person, I've started to make lists of what I need to do, so every morning I wake up, I usually find a list that might say what I need to make some dinner, what homework should be done by the end of the day and so on.

I have also learned to take care of myself in a way I never thought was possible before I moved down south. I can cook almost anything actually, and I'm pretty good at it too. I can travel around on my own, not being scared of where I might end up and what job I might do. I've started to drink more red wine (which I always considered a grown up thing to do), and I have also an idea of what I want to spend the rest of my life working with.

But yeah, the combination of being a student abroad on all of these amazing and crazy adventures, combined with a try to develop my level of maturity equals something I can't put a definition to at all. I guess it's simply called being a student, because that's what we do: we study hard, aim for good grades followed by good jobs in the future, we spend whole days reading, repeating and learning, we work at shitty student jobs with redicilously low pay, but still take time to party, travel, spend a whole day in a couch every now and then and just being silly.

Well this isn't leadning anywhere, I'm just being tired talking shit, haha!

Anywho, I'm exited for tomorrow and please all of you cross your fingers for me and pray I'll do good. I'm confident, but I need all the luck I could get still. If I get the job, it means I'll be able to do a job I've always wanted to learn, I'll make money and move in with this awesome girl right in town, and hopefully if I get enough hours, I'll be able to save some money as well.

Cross your fingers! 

Kommentarer
Postat av: Mamma

Tummarna hålls <3

2010-11-27 @ 00:28:04

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0