Mount Doom and Tongariro Crossing, part 2

So let's finish up about the weekend.

After doing the full day hike, our group divided into two cars: one that was staying, and one that was returning to Auckland. Myself, Mario, Andy, Steph and Eirik were staing, so we went to the closest, cheapest and least healthiest foodplace in "town", which was a truckstop. Fries and a cheeseburger isn't my favourite food, but after that day it was really, really good. 

After eating we moved on to find a hostel to stay at, as it was too cold to camp and a bed would be amazing for our aching bodies; we found a great one for $20 per night which is a good deal. First thing they do is to tell us they have puppies, so we spent a while cuddling with them before we made it to our room. We sat up and talked and had a beer, but I went to bed pretty early to catch up with some reading (studies) and to get my beauty sleep (hah). We all agreed on getting up no earlier than 10 the next morning, but I woke up at 7 and felt wide awake. I thought I'd might as well get up, so I parked myself in the lounge, studied, ate an apple, had six cups of coffee, and had a chat with the people there. The others woke up three hours later, and we checked out of the room.





As we were supposed to move on to Roturua straight away, we were all pretty keen to leave, but the hostel was just amazing with nice staff, a hammock, trampolin, puppies and two awesome kids that wanted to play with us, so we ended up staying for a couple of extra hours, just hanging around. We painted our mark there, had a beer and played with the two little girls who were soooo cute!


In this picture I have five (!) puppies on me. I had all seven for a while, how awesome?







It took a while to move on, but once we did we drove to some hot springs i Taupo. Well, kind of hot springs, thy mixed in a river so we just lied just where it mixed so it wasn't too hot nor too cold. The remedy for sore muscles indeed! We stayed there for a couple of hours, just relaxing, and then moved on to Roturua. We stayed for half an hour and drove on to Hamilton to grab a beer. Andy, Steph and Mario had scorpion shots (vodka shots with a real dead scorpion in each). Eirik didn't drink as he was driving, and I most definatley didn't have one. I might have done it after a few tequila shots, but never sober. We explored Victoria Street and Hood Street, the two streets that are populated with all the bars. It was dead since it was Sunday, but we had a nice time drinking beer, playing pool and discovering the statue of "Time Warp".









So this statue was rather fascinating for five students like us. There were instructions how to do the dance, and we were fooling around for quite a while before Andy yelled out that we were being filmed. There is a webpage where you can watch people do the dance 24/7, so Helge, our friend from Norway who also lives in Auckland, watched us do the dance online. Very random, but so much fun!




"Let's do the Time Warp agaaaain"


This is it for now. Will follow up with more pictures another time, maybe tomorrow. For now I'm going to bed soon, I have to get up 7 tomorrow morning. I'm going to try out a morning run with Eirik, and if any of us (that would be me, in other words) oversleeps, that person has to buy the other one a sixpack. So, morning run, this is going to be interesting. However, it'll be nice, I need to start the day off with energy as I am going to study all day, and perhaps all night as well.

Nightey xx 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0