Studies, travels and lot's of love.

This weekend is going to be busy, but amazing!

As many assignments are due right before the mid break, every day consists of at least a few hours studying, but it feels really good and I have been so productive today working my as off on my essay in order to enjoy my weekend fully.

Tomorrow morning me and some friends will go to Tongariro to do the crossing. It is a four hour drive and need I say that I LOVE ROADTRIPS? We will start the hike on Saturday morning, and it will take 11-12 hours in total we assume. We will start around six in the morning I think, so it will be a good workout with amazing views.

On Sunday we're going to Mount Taranaki. We figured we might as well do that one too while we're in th neighborhood, hehe! We'll return to Auckland on Sunday night. My essay is due n Wednesday 2 pm, which leaves me another three days to spice up my essay, but for now it's pretty much done. Only thing I need to do now is researching to see if there's anything I've missed out on to add to it. I will have plenty of time in the car to do that.. ;)

As for tonight, I just came home from a pubquiz which my team won, and we all got free movie tickets, yay! However,  was too braindead to contribute at all so the honor goes to the other members of our Team America Sucks + 3 Europeans and 1 Canadian: Simon (Norwegian), Chris (American), Marisa (Canadian) and Helge (Norwegian).

This is how my day was spent before the quiz:

Class 9-11
Study 11-3pm
Clean apartment for an hour
More studying
Supermarket
Cook dinner

Should I add that I have consumed four (!) full plungers today (1 litre), whereas 2 coffee and 2 tea. 1 plunger is about 4 cups. That's a lot of caffeine, haha! So by the afternoon I was high on caffeine and it went downhill, and now I'm zombie. I needed it though for my studies. I found my flow today and got so much done, I feel so good about it. I do feel a bit anxious about the essay though, because it's very different from the essays I've written before. I hope that I can nail it anyway. I'll give a copy to to an American friend so that he can chainsaw it and tell me what to change. What have I done without good friends to help me with my assignments? I was lucky last semester as well to have my friends helping me to improve my work.

As for now, I'm thinking about friends from last semester.. Esme, Gretchen, Brittany, Dominik, Jonathan, Linnea, Memo, Fred, Sawa, Charlie, and everyone else. I miss you like hell! It wasn't really until the night that myself, Getchen, Jonathan, Esme, and Brittany had our last dinner out in Skytower that I realized how painful it would be to say goodbye.. We all said a couple of words of what an amzing time we had spent together, and when it was my turn I started crying. It was at that moment it struck me that friends like you don't just happen.

Friends from here still come up to me and ask me about you guys. They all say the same things: "You were always together.." "Attached to the hip.." "Do you miss them?" "Are you going to meet them again?"

It was probaly the hardest separation I've ever gone through, and as I returned to WSA in February, I walked in and thought "I'm home", but I also wondered where my whanau was. Where is my family? When can I go to 3g to hang out?

You are all so amazing and I love you to death. I wish I could talk to you every day! Even though it hurts me when we do, because it reminds me of the distance, I also feel happy. We all connected in the most amazing way, and you all changed my oerspectve of life. Sorry for sounding cheesy, but it is true.

Esme made me more sensitive and emotional. She taught me (even if I wasn't really consent) that objectivity isn't always the right answer to everything.

Gretchen has showed me what hard work really stands for and that if you really want something, you can get it as long as you work for it. She graduated from University at such a young age with no debts as she's paid for it all by herself, including one semester in NZ.

Brittany has expanded my thoughts about justice, and inspired me to continue with human rights, equality, environmental friendly development, fair trade, and so on. She is such a source of inspiration!

Jonathan has showed me how important it is to be who you are and stand up for it. To not only follow your dreams, but also your heart! 

I love you guys!


Tongariro Crossing! I remember looking at this picture with amazement in a library in Sweden long before it was even certain that I would come here, hoping to get there in time. Tomorrow, that will be another dream come true.


Mount Taranaki (or Mount Egmont in English). Will be there on Sunday!

Before I go to bed I'll have a lastlook at my essay, and then watch The book of Eli. Good night!




Kommentarer
Postat av: The Gretch

Every time I think about our goodbyes a tear comes to my eyes, but then I realize that the bond we all created will stick with us for the rest of our lives and even if we dont see each other in the near future, I know that we will still one day be together in person and we will always be together in spirit.



2011-04-11 @ 05:16:58

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0