23 February....

There was another earthquake in Christchurch yesterday.

The city where I lived for three months, and left less than three days before the 6.3 quake which has caused, for now, 75 confirmed dead, a couple of hundred people missing, destroyed buildings and sorrow. I am safe in Auckland, but I can't help but feel despair and terror as a beautiful city is ruined and many people I know are the victims of it. This is by far the worst thing that happend here in NZ, and I can only cross my fingers for it to be the last catastrophy to happen to Christchuch.

First the 7.1 earthquake in September.

Then the Pike River accident, with 29 dead men.

Now, a 6.3 earthquake with all this misery, destruction and death.

I hope for the sake of the people in Christchurch that they can evacuate as soon as possible, recover from this terrible disaster and hopefully return back to Christchurch with renewed strength, hope and curage.

You are all in my mind, and I hope the rest of the world will do whatever they can do to help you.

As for me, I couldn't have been more grateful for leaving Christchurch with my sister two and a half days before the earthquake, as much as having my friends in uni from Christchurch here in Auckland with me. We should consider ourselves blessed.

[Christchurch earthquake]
[Christchurch earthquake]
[Christchurch earthquake]


Read more and see more pictures here


Kommentarer
Postat av: sture

vi tänker på dej

2011-02-23 @ 21:58:49

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0