Cynicism and sarcasm

I am a frequent user of sarcasm. Some people call it "the lowest form of humour". The Cambridge Online Dictionary describe sarcasm like this: "the use of remarks which clearly mean the opposite of what they say, and which are made in order to hurt someone's feelings or to criticize something in a humorous way". So why do I use sarcasm?

I do find it entertaining, which would be my first reason to use it. Many times I use it in such a way that many people aren't aware that I am actually being sarcastic, and not serious. You really have to see me do it to understand. I choose whom I'm being sarcastic to; as I am a polite and rather formal person I aim to keep that charcter amongst, say, my boss, family, professor etc. However, if you ever catch me being sarcastic towards you, do not take offense, it's most of the times a friendly sign. Whenever I use sarcasm towards people I don't like, I use it in a way where I make clear for them the purpose of it all.

The bad thing about sarcasm? Many times when I really am being honest and serious, people mistake me for being sarcastic. That would happen mostly when I express any sort of feelings for anyone. For an example, here's a text message conversation with one of my friends from work:

D tells me he's at work on Monday night, and as you can guess it's rather quiet and not as stressful as Saturday night.

I reply that I wish I was working too

D replies: That's only because you love to be in my company...! Hahaha

I answer that I really do enjoy his company and wouldn't mind working there with him right then

D: You can be extremely sarcastic sometimes ye know that...!

And I was being honest!

Some people choose to refer to me as a cynic sometimes.. THAT bothers me because I'm not cynical!!! I do have some things that I am cynical about, but all of us do! I am a realist, because I think it's fundamental for people to be able to realize what's actually most likely to happen, and what's not. I still have faith in human being. The difference between having faith and relying on is:

- having faith simply means that I know that whaever I have faith in may not happen, but I still hope that it will. However, if not I will not be disappointed because I already prepared myself for it, for that was the think most likely to happen. Ex: if my partner goes on a trip with his mates for a few weeks, say Costa Brava, to drink and enjoy themselves. For me to assume that he will cheat wouldn't mean that I would freak out and call him fifty times a day to make sure he won't forget me, or hate all men and become a lesbian because of that. It would simply mean that I am well aware of the risk and I accept that's the way it is. Being a realist is way more rational than being a cynical, because obviously not everything's crap or is about to turn out to suck!

- being a cynic, as the Cambridge Online Dictionary describes it:

believing that people are only interested in themselves and are not sincere AND/OR describes the use of someone's feelings or emotions to your own advantage

Doesn't that sound more like paranoia? The last time I checked, I have plenty of faith in the pure human being, even though I am being proven the opposite on the daily basis. How could I even consider fighting for world peace if I believed in cynicism rather than realism? People that does not know the opposite should look it up before the accuse me for being something I'm not. It's quite annoying.

That was the rant of the day. Ciao belli! ♥

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0