I used to be schizophrenic, but we're okay now

So I finished my exam preparation summary today and made a studyguide out of it. I ended up being more than 50 pages of summary covering the whole course, plus about 80-90 pages of articles that may be part of the exam. Today I've been reading and making notes in the studyguide regarding things that are crucial for the exam, and parts where I need to add information. It's been a long day, and in order to keep myself from being distracted I turned off the sound on my phone and tried to zone into myself.

When I study I just kind of disappear into my own world. I talk to myself and I make wierd gestures that most people take for insanity. The gesture thing is a big part of my learning, that I learned from a good kiwi friend of mine.

I structure the information (on paper) in a way that suits me, whether it is in a special order, arrows, colours, you name it, and then I look up from the paper and make a mental image of the information. After repeatig it a few time, I can picture the information the exact same way as it is on the paper right in front of me. I guess that's what most people do when they learn geography, for an example.

It really is helpful. Obviously, one needs to understand the meaning of the information to succesfully learn it and be abe to recollect it later on when needed, but even if you do it doesn't mean that you will be able to keep track on which order it comes on, or even remember it at all.

What I do is that I start off by creating a mental image with bulletpoints. Once I have a good clue of that, I start adding more and more information, but it is important to break t up in pieces.

Ex. the peripheral nervous system.

 - The peripheral nervous system (PNS) consists of the somatic and autonomic nervous system (SNS & ANS, abbrevations are also good ways regarding learning and processing information into your long term memory). The somatic nervous system is divided into afferent and efferent, and the autonomic is divided into sympathetic and parasympathetic.

That's step one, the basic information to know how it is "built up".

Next step is to add the different functions of afferent, efferent, sympathetic, and parasympathetic and understand the connection.

Remember: when you already know the basic structure, it becomes much more easier to relate the different facts to ehere they belong.

Well, that's the tip of the day. Don't have any more energy for this. I'm off to bed to watch I am number 4, and tomorrow I'm going running with Eirik 8 am, then I'm waking up Chris at 10. I think I might made him breakfast before I do so, as I love eating proper breakfasts (which I haven't done in ages) just as much as I love making breakfast for other people. I actually do!

So off to bed now. Good night, world!

How great is this song? Soooooo good!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0