Ica

I've been watching ICA commercials for quite a while. I love them, and thought that since I've missed out on them for more than eight months I might as well watch them all on ICA's webpage. I LOVED the latest one and my eyes went watery from all the laughter. Lovin' it! As you may guess, I have had a quiet Friday. I've studied mos of the day, and all of my meals have consited of rice, sweet & sour sauce and soy. I just couldn't be bothered to make anything else in all honesty.

One thing I have been thinking about a lot lately is all the disasters that keep striking the world. What the hell is going on? People around here seem to always be on their watch for something to happen.. Just recently when I was sitting outside chatting with some friends in the courtyard, we heard two bangs and people got scared and thought something would happenhere too.. Turns out some guys had some kindof race and jumped down from a balcony, landed on a car, made some push ups and then ran away. Should we spend all of our time here being scared?

I'm not constantly scared. I know that it wouldn't help if I'd walk around being anxious all the time, it would rather make it worse. If something actually would happen, which I strongly doubt, we'd just have to make the best out of it. I'm not leaving Auckland and I'm most certainly not leaving New Zealand just because something might happen, obviously.

There is one guy that people keep talking about. He predicted the earthquake in Christchurch on the 21st, and a second one on 20 March. He said the one "to be" might be as strong as 8.0. He thinks, apparently, that it might trigger tsunamis and maybe even start off the vulcanoes in Auckland (we have one or two active vulcanoes here). Not that I believe any of it. Yes, New Zealand is a small country, and a big tsunami could seriously damage most of it, but it doesn't mean that it's safer anywere else. Sweden is not in the danger zone for earthquakes, and yet I've felt a 4.7 as I was lying in my own bed there.

Tomorrow is the 20th, and it will be interesting to see what will happen. I sincerely hope that us in New Zealand, and the rest of the world hae had enough of all destruction, death and misery for a while.

I know my sister is a bit worried about me being here, and it even got to the point where she wanted me to get out of here, whch is fully understandable and I would feel the sam i her situation, but we must not forget that ther is no scientific proof of predictions of any disasters to come. It would be nothing but irrational to be scared of something that may happen. I might get hit by a car. I might get beaten up. My plane back to Sweden might crash. But that's not a good way of living, is it?

In order to seize the day, worry less and enjoy more.

As for me, I'm going to continue my quiet night, watch some tv and then go to bed when I feel like it. Today I feel good about going back to Sweden, really good. I hope this feeling will last me till the day comes.



PS. Check this out, ICA commercial

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0