Som jag hade dig förut

The last couple of days I have been listening a lot to the Swedish artist Melissa Horn. Not that I've never heard her before, but I didn't really "discover" her as an artist of my interest until this week.

So tonight I'm sitting in my bed, trying to make up a to-do-list for tomorrow. I just finished watching the movie 500 days of Summer, which I really enjoyed. It wasn't one of those cliché chick flicks that makes you want to vomit, but romantic and cute, yet quite more realistic and cynical than all the false hope bringing American lovestories. As for now, after finishing the list the plan is to read Larsson's The girl who played with fire and then get some sleep. I'm going for a morning run with Eirik tomorrow, and since I don't have lecture till 4 pm and he at noon, we decided to go at 9 instead of 8 am. Nice!

But the real purpose of this post was not to inform you of this. Tonight my head is full of thoughts and philosophy. I'm not even quite sure of where to begin. As I'm in constant contact with people when I'm working, I do have plenty of time to "people watch"; analyse behavior and try to figure out why people act in certain ways.

Yesterday, a six year old girl came up to me and started chatting. I gave her a piece of paper and a pen to scrabble on and she stuck around while her mom and aunt was shopping.

Every day at work, an older Scottish man stops by to have a talk and catch up. He's in his seventies, and he's dying. He told me his life story, abot how he left home when he was eighteen, and didn't go back until he was fifty. How he's travelled the world and ended up in New Zealand. How he caught a mortal decise due to smoking. What medications he's taking to keep the system running. It's a sad story, yet every time he comes by he greets me with a big smile and an update of his physical condition, which usually isn't very good.

It reminds me of people in Christchurch whose presence I took for granted when I on my days off would wander off to the Cathedral Square to sit outside of Starbucks with a coffee or an iced tea and watch people. To sit there in the sun, reading a book, analysing people and brainstorming about life was extremely relaxing, and I wish I could find a just as good place in Auckland.

So at the Cathedral Square there was the crazy hat man who would walk around the statue of a man I don't know about and preach about something I never quite got the hang of. His voice was worn out, to non surprise as he was always there talking out loud and desperatley trying to reach out to the pubic, gain their attention.

I keep asking myself if he's still alive. It scares me how fragile life is. From expecting to see this man every time I went there, to suddently realizing he might as well be dead is... a peculiar feeling, I guess. I never once spoke to him, I never closely listened to what he had to say or even new his name. For me, he was just the loud man with the big hat and the crazy hair. I even made a drawing of him once, sitting on the bottom of the statue, taking a break from his.. whatever it was.

He doesn't have anywhere to talk anymore. If he's even alive.

I'm not sure of where this is going.. I guess that people have a very big impact on me, regardless if they are friends from way back, or just some brief connection that doesn't even have to be direct contact. Have I made any impact on anyone out there? I guess that is a question that everyone ask themselves at one point. Do I want to? I think I do. I'm quite sure that I will leave this life with something significant behind me. Maybe not something that will be a major part of history, but it will make impact on at least one person. If so, I gues that I will be able to go satisfied.

We all try to get involved in other people's lives on a daily basis. "No, that dress isn't as good as the one you tried out before" - "Use the trim milk, it's better for you" - "If you want to get good marks in this essay I advice you to change this and that"

In good and bad, we change -or at least try to- people's opinions about, well everything. This girl in the mall got me one step closer to come over my "fear" of kids, as I think of children as another, unknown species. But apparently us and them aren't too much unlike each other, there is hope!

..... I have plenty of quite meaningless thoughts to share, but for now I will get started on my reading. I'm getting up in five and a half hours and I will need my sleep.

To-do-list - 9 May 2011, Monday

- morning run, 9 am
- research for conflict essay 11-2ish pm
- mediation practice before class
- class 4-7 pm

Nightey 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0