Running solo

So I've been single for almost 2 years now. Crazy how time flies by, however I have no regrets about that. Being single has been the ultimate lifestyle for me during this time, as a boyfriend would have prevented me from living up to my dreams, such as moving 13 000 km's away from home. Realistic as I am, there is no way I would be in for the long distance thing, I just don't believe in that stuff.
However, single by choice or not I do believe that all of "us" have one of those days every now and then. You know the day? Well, it's the one you start off with ice cream and a cheesy American romantic comedy, pretending you have nothing else of more importance to get done.
I, for an example, could have done any of the following:
- studying for my upcoming exam
- clean the apartment
- go hang out with friends
- work out
Instead I chose to wear sweatpants, lie in my bed, eat junk food and watch several crappy girl movies that I usually don't even like. Terrible! I guess that only proves that I am a woman (since some people tend to doubt that).
Even though I am having one of those sad single days, I can't help but wonder why people (women in particular) are so crazy about finding "The One", getting married, having kids and living happily ever after? I just don't get it. Why is that the dream of most women all over the world? How could there not be anything else that is more tempting than committing yourself to taking care of other people for the next 20 years, at least? Well, maybe I'm lacking estrogen but that is not how I want to spend my life.
My life is going to be.... Extraordinary. Exceptional. Great. And it will be MINE! Regardless if I will be flying solo or not, it will be my life and what I shaped it into.
So yes, I will watch another chick flick where the skinny beautiful girl is being chased by that stunning man and in the end scene they will get married, as I will more or less throw up in my mouth. I will raise my eyebrow, call her a stupid whore for letting go of all her dreams just for "The One". But I will watch it. Today is my sad single day.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0