Acknowledgements about myself

Lately I've been increasingly aware of how terrible I'm at enthusiasm. By that I don't mean showing enthusiasm, but exercising it. Perhaps the most obvious case is travelling. A few years ago it was an adventure going outside of the region I lived in, Skåne. Nowadays travelling doesn't give me the same scary but undeniably jittery feeling. Well, don't get me wrong. It's still scary and jittery, but not in the proportions as before.

I'm going to the US this summer for three weeks. Sure, it'll be fun and everything but do I think of it every day? Do I plan what to do in every little possible detail? Do I dream away to places I want to vist? No, I don't. I have a busy life that needs maintenance and focus. And I think it's rather sad.

Travelling is a drug. For every trip I do, I'm in greater need of a new injection, a new high, new experiences. At the same time, I need stronger doses each time. I need bigger, better, faster. So how am I now supposed to fill my need of strange, exceptional and different when I spend one year recently as far away from Sweden possible? When I went to Holland I had a great experience with my friends, and I'd go there again any day, but it didn't give me a high as strong as I got in NZ or Samoa. Not very strange at all, as their cultures, nature and people are not the same as here. It's different there.

Oh well. I'm not complaining. I'm still very excited for this summer's trip and I can't wait to put my books on the shelf and get on that plane for three weeks of adventure, exploring and most of all MEETING MY FRIENDS! How lucky am I on a scale of 1 to 10? Obviously 10 when it comes to travelling. Hard work, a strict budget and perhaps most of all a generous family made it all happen.

As for now I'm starting to put up new travel goals, carefully though. One of them is Papua New Guinea. I'd like to go there to hike from villiage to villiage to see how the people live and perhaps most of all, meet the pretty recently cannibalistic villiagers and hear their stories of how their lives changed after the British settlers of Australia went in to stop the cannibalism and convert them to Christianity. Exciting, huh? I can't wait till the day I can fulfil this.

There are no boundaries but oneself. You are the one to set your own restrictions!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0